History of Vallfort, a medieval historical building
It is documented Mr. Bernat de Vallfort knight of year 1213. The Vallfort farmhouse is a fortified building with registered origin of the fifteenth century.
The building located on a small hill at the edge of the stream of Marmellar, and very close to Lleger.
It is accessed through a bastion with a low arch door. The structure of the building is supported by buttresses. The materials used are irregular ashlars. It should be noted its defensive nature.
The complex has different construction stages and preserves the character of its history, as a defensive enclave in La Marca and visible in its high ceilings and stone arches. Some presses from 1788 reveal the importance of the past of this farmhouse that was a monks ‘farm and a knights’ refuge in the Penedés, land of wines, cavas and nature.
Some presses from 1788 reveal the importance of the past of this farmhouse that was a monks ‘farm and a knights’ refuge in the Penedés, land of wines, cavas and nature.
The Vallfort farmhouse is a building listed as a national monument and appears in numerous medieval references.
It also has a sundial with figures and characters of the time.
Come visit the farmhouse to discover all its corners full of history.